UPDATE: Friday is officially the day. We expect it online at 4pm UK/8am PT/11am ET…

Following teases from Alamo Drafthouse’s NYC cinema and superstar Taylor Swift that something from the much-anticipated big-screen adaptation of Cats is due to arrive on Friday, we can now safely say that it will indeed be the film’s first trailer. The debut look – set to be a more substantial full trailer than a teaser – has been rated overnight by Alberta Film Ratings and we’ll be sure to have it here as soon as it’s online Friday…

Screenshot at Jul 17 07-15-19.png

One of the longest-running shows in West End and Broadway history, the stage musical “Cats” received its world premiere at the New London Theatre in 1981, where it played for 21 years and earned the Olivier and Evening Standard Awards for Best Musical. In 1983, the Broadway production became the recipient of seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical, and ran for an extraordinary 18 years. Since opening in London in 1981, “Cats” has continuously appeared on stage around the globe, to date having played to 81 million people in more than fifty countries and in nineteen languages. It is regarded as one of the most successful musicals of all time.

Starring James Corden, Dame Judi Dench, Jason Derulo, Idris Elba, Jennifer Hudson , Sir Ian McKellen, Taylor Swift, Rebel Wilson and Francesca Hayward, the film is released December 20 in the U.S. and the UK.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.